Performing j.s. Bach's  Magnificat in D major  at the Basilica of st. patrick's old cathedral, december 2013

Performing j.s. Bach's Magnificat in D major at the Basilica of st. patrick's old cathedral, december 2013

The Chorus

In 1984 Susan Glass founded The Glass Menagerie with a group of eight parents and teachers from the Little Red School House & Elisabeth Irwin High School community. Since this modest beginning the chorus has grown in numbers, repertoire, and musical accomplishments. Our members come from throughout the metropolitan area and from every walk of life, and include enthusiastic amateurs as well as professional music educators and performers. Performances have highlighted classical masterworks, folk and vernacular musical traditions, and the work of living composers. We have commissioned and performed new works by Elliot Z. Levine, Jonathan David, and Julie Dolphin; celebrated the renowned Robert DeCormier; and collaborated with guest arranger/conductors. In 2009 we marked our 25th anniversary with Kodály’s Missa Brevis and the African Missa Luba. Other high points include Orff’s Carmina Burana in 2011, with two pianos, and percussion; and our 2013 performance of J. S. Bach’s monumental Magnificat in D Major, with Baroque chamber ensemble. Recent concerts have featured Ariel Ramirez’s Navidad Nuestra; Rutter’s Gloria with organ and brass; and music for chorus and harp, including the Fauré Requiem, Bassi’s Harpsonnets, and Brahms’ Four Songs for Women’s Chorus, Two Horns & Harp. In 2016, we celebrated Shakespeare’s 400th birthday with an evening of choral music and dramatic readings. March 2017 saw our first choral collaboration when we joined with Joan Isaac Litman’s Cantigas Women’s Choir to perform Zimriyah: A Festival of Jewish Song. Our May 2017 concert, One Land, Many Voices, celebrated the rich diversity of American song; and in December we presented Bach to Bach to Bach, a musical journey with J.S, C.P.E, and P.D.Q. Bach. The season culminated with In Love, War, and Remembrance.

Board of Directors

Bonnie Hiller, President
Richard Yaeger, Vice President
Kathleen O'Connell, Treasurer
Nan Rothschild Cooper, Secretary

Directors at Large
Meghan Stolar Brown
Wilhelmina Eaken
Nancy Watt Rosenfeld
Terri Sasanow
David Teitel

Past President
Bart Haggerty